NCCPA Launches CAQ Program for PAs in 5 Specialties

The National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants has launched a certificate of added qualifications program for certified physician assistants practicing in cardiovascular and thoracic surgery, emergency medicine, nephrology, orthopedic surgery, and psychiatry.

2 comments on "NCCPA Launches CAQ Program for PAs in 5 Specialties"
Alex (8/11/2011 at 6:48 PM)

The article says " PAs must meet licensure, education, experience, and exam requirements". I am currently in PA school and my question is where can I learn more about these criteria?
Margaret Allen, PA-C (8/11/2011 at 11:16 AM)

And once again, no CAQ for PAs practicing in Family Medicine. Is it not a specialty? Is it not where our roots are? Do we not have to "prove" our competency just as equally as our colleagues in cardiology and emergency medicine? Family Medicine should have been the first specialty to receive this possibly-bogus "extra" qualification. Perhaps this is just a nice little earner for the NCCPA, and they recognize that those of us on the front lines in family and community medicine are not well enough paid to buy this certificate.


FREE e-Newsletters Join the Council Subscribe to HL magazine


100 Winners Circle Suite 300
Brentwood, TN 37027


About | Advertise | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Reprints/Permissions | Contact
© HealthLeaders Media 2015 a division of BLR All rights reserved.